Global Agriculture

Australia supports Pacific for plant health talks

Share this

24 August 2023, Australia: Australia is proud to be able to help Pacific Island nations bring their views and expertise to critical international plant health talks.

Three delegates from American Samoa, Marshall Islands and the Federated States of Micronesia will attend the Pacific Plant Protection Organisation (PPPO) annual International Plant Protection Convention (IPPC) workshop and triennial board meeting in the Cook Islands this week.

Australia’s Chief Plant Protection Officer Dr Gabrielle Vivian-Smith said Australia’s support for the participation of these delegates meant there was a broader scope of views and understanding at the meetings.

“It’s important to have as complete a representation as possible at a meeting like this, especially since a board meeting hasn’t been held since 2018 due to COVID and other delays,” said Dr Vivian-Smith.

“The PPPO is at its best when the whole region is able to contribute. We also want to encourage a supportive, connected Pacific family.

“This meeting will discuss draft international plant health standards and approve a work plan of activities designed to improve biosecurity capacity across the region. Plant health, agricultural production and trade underpins economic development and food security in the Pacific, but this can be vulnerable without robust biosecurity systems.

“Australia is happy to promote participation by all Pacific countries and territories in the PPPO in order to improve the biosecurity of our region across the board.”

Fast Facts
  • The Pacific Plant Protection Organisation (PPPO) coordinates harmonisation of phytosanitary measures and fosters co-operation in plant protection and other phytosanitary matters among members, countries, and organisations outside the Pacific region.
  • The PPPO includes all 26 members of the Pacific Community comprising twenty-two Pacific Island Countries and Territories and four founding members.
  • Pacific Island Countries and Territories are American Samoa, Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia (FSM), Fiji Islands, French Polynesia, Guam, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, New Caledonia, Niue, Northern Mariana Islands (CNMI), Palau, Papua New Guinea (PNG), Pitcairn Islands, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, and Wallis and Futuna and the four founding countries are Australia, France, New Zealand, and the United States of America.

Also Read: SWAL launches new product Sperto for Soybean and Cotton in India

(For Latest Agriculture News & Updates, follow Krishak Jagat on Google News)

Share this