Seed Industry

Field Day On Direct Seeded Rice

31 July 2021, Punjab: Under the directions of Directorate of Extension Education, Punjab Agricultural University, Ludhiana, a field day on direct seeded rice was organized by Farm Advisory Service Centre, Gurdaspur at village Barila Kalan of Block Kalanaur. While inaugurating field day, Dr. Bhupinder Singh Dhillon, Director, Regional Research Station, Gurdaspur emphasized the farmers to adopt direct sowing of rice on large scale so that the precious water can be saved. With this technique 15-20 per cent of irrigation water can be saved than transplanted rice. Dr. Sarabjit Singh Aulakh, Associate Director (Training), Krishi Vigyan Kendra, Gurdaspur motivated the farmers to get training on direct sowing of rice for the success of this technique. On this occasion, Dr. Sumesh Chopra, District Extension Specialist (SM) asked the farmers to go for direct seeding of rice by using Lucky seed drill (Press wheel). With this machine, herbicide Pendimethalin @ 1 litre per acre can also be sprayed alongwith sowing. This drill also helps in maintaining soil moisture and elimination of the soil crust formation.

Also Read: UPL Ltd Q1FY22 Net Profit rises 23% to Rs. 678 crore

DSR expert Dr. Amit Kaul from Department of Agronomy, PAU, Ludhiana answered the queries of farmers adopting DSR first time. He also suggested to identify the weeds like Madhana, Cheenni ghas and Gandi wala motha of this area and spray the recommended herbicides accordingly. He also advised to apply first irrigation to the crop 21 days after sowing under wet sown DSR. According to experts, Tar-wattar at sowing and depth of sowing at 3-4 cm are the keys of success to direct seeding of rice Dr. Satwinderjit Kaur, Associate Professor (Soil Science) provided technical know-how about balanced use of fertilizers in the crops and apply 130 kg urea per acre in three equal splits viz., 4,6 and 8 weeks after sowing in direct seeded rice. Successful farmers in direct seeded rice technology namely, Kashmir Singh (Chandu wadala), Gurmangal Singh (Maare), Yadwinder Singh, Sandeep Singh (Naharpur), Prem Singh (Masatkot), Gurpreet Singh, Surjit Singh (Barila Kalan) were also honoured at the function. At the end, Sarpanch Kulwant Singh proposed vote of thanks to the farmers and scientists.