National News

Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR) Awards 2020

Quick Share

16 July 2020, New Delhi: The Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR) has been recognizing and rewarding the institutions, scientists, teachers, farmers and agricultural journalists every year. This year about 160 awardees under 20 different categories have been selected. These comprises of three Institutions, two AICRP, 14 KVKs, 94 Scientists, 31 farmers, 6 journalists and 10 staff members of various ICAR Institutes.

Read: Punjab looking for investments from Japan for Agro Processing Sector

Among the Agricultural Universities and Deemed universities, Govind Ballabh Pant University of Agriculture & Technology, Pantnagar has been bestowed upon the Best Agriculture University Award for the rapid strides in all spheres of teaching, research, extension and innovations.

ICAR- Central Marine Fisheries Research Institute, Cochi has been awarded the Best Institution Award among the large institute category. The ICAR-Central Institute for Research on Cotton Technology, Mumbai has been adjudged the best ICAR institution among smaller ICAR Institutes category. 

All India Coordinated Research Project on Sorghum, Hyderabad and All India Coordinated Research Project on Maize, Ludhiana have been jointly conferred Chaudhary Devi Lal Outstanding All India Coordinated Research Project Award 2019.

Deendayal Upadhyay Krishi Vigyan Protsahan Puruskar for KVKs at National Level has been jointly bagged by Krishi Vigyan Kendra, Datia, Madhya Pradesh and Krishi Vigyan Kendra, Venkataramannagudem, Andhra Pradesh for outstanding extension/ outreach activities having significant impact in developing agriculture and allied sectors of the district. 

Six journalists comprising of 4 from Print and 2 from electronic media have been given the Chaudhary Charan Singh Award for agricultural journalism 2019.

Quick Share