India Region

22 Precision Farming Development Centres (PFDCs) developed across India

23 November 2022, New Delhi: Dr. Abhilaksh Likhi, Additional Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture & Farmers Welfare, (Department of Agriculture & Farmers Welfare) interacted with farmers at the Precision Farming Development Centre created under National Committee on Precision Agriculture & Horticulture (NCPAH). He also visited the RKVY- RAFTAAR Agri-start up Agribusiness Incubator (R-ABI) and the Integrated Beekeeping Development Centre (IBDC) at the Tamil Nadu Agriculture University (TNAU), Coimbatore.

Government of India has setup 22 Precision Farming Development Centres (PFDCs) in all the agro climatic zones of the country with an aim to develop and disseminate regionally differentiated technologies on Precision Farming such as Micro Irrigation and hi-tech agriculture (vertical farming, hydroponics aeroponics, protected cultivation, plasticulture) and to maximize production and productivity per unit area to enhance the socio-economic conditions of farmers and end users. These 22 PFDCs are located in State/Central Agricultural Universities (SAUs), ICAR Institutes and IITs in the States of Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Odisha, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu, Haryana, Telangana, West Bengal, Ladakh, Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Gujarat, Uttrakhand, Maharashtra, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Bihar, Himachal Pradesh, Kerala, Manipur, Assam.

Dr. Likhi visited the Precision Farming Development Centre (PFDC) at the TNAU, Coimbatore. The major achievements of PFDC Coimbatore are that it has conducted researches on thrust areas like Drip Irrigation, Plastic mulching, Pond lining, green house, cladding material, sprinkler irrigation. Researches have also been conducted on technologies like Drip Irrigation, Fertigation, Plastic mulching, Polyhouse, Drip automation, GIS and Soil less media. Researches in these technologies have been conducted in crops namely Amaranthus, banana, bhendi, bitter gourd, brinjal, cabbage, capsicum, castor, redgram, cauliflower, chilli, coconut cotton, cucumber, flower crops, papayas, paprika, tomato, turmeric and groundnut.

Dr. Likhi also visited the RKVY-RAFTAAR Agribusiness Incubator (R-ABI) at the TNAU. This incubation facility promotes agri-startups. DA&FW has appointed 5 knowledge Partners (KPs) as Centre of Excellence and 24 RKVY-RAFTAAR Agribusiness Incubators (R-ABIs) across the country of which Technology Business Incubator (TBI), TNAU, Coimbatore is one. These 5 Knowledge partners have been appointed for implementation assistance and advise on smooth and efficient execution of the scheme, handholding of R-ABIs and implement a Centre of Excellence to demonstrate best practices to agri-startup eco system, etc. Five Knowledge partners across the country are (a) National Institute of Agricultural Extension Management (MANAGE), Hyderabad, (b) National Institute of Agricultural Marketing (NIAM), Jaipur, (c) Indian Agricultural Research institute (IARI), Pusa, New Delhi, (d) University of Agriculture Science, Dharwad, Karnataka, (e) Assam Agriculture University, Jorhat, Assam.

Also Read: Out of the Global Top 20 Pesticides, only 2 remain Patented: Study

(For Latest Agriculture News & Updates, follow Krishak Jagat on Google News)